The manor house and the open-air museum in Humenné
The manor house in Humenné, which is still the dominant feature of the town, is first mentioned in written sources in 1449. The manor has a square floor plan with a central courtyard. At the entrance is a large tower with a gate and a drawbridge, which has been preserved as a memory of a medieval water castle. During a fire in 1946, the shingled roof of the manor burned down. Eighteen years later, its reconstruction began and in 1972 it began to be used for various purposes. It is currently a national cultural monument and the seat of the Vihorlat Museum. In the interior of the building, you will find several exhibitions. One of them is, for example, art-historical, which offers richly decorated rooms, such as the Room of the Hungarian Kings, Mary Theresa, or an ornamental room. The exposition of sacral art with the chapel of the Virgin Mary was ceremoniously opened in 2009. It presents works mainly from the 18th and 19th centuries. The dominant work is the painting The Last Supper from 1770. The natural science exposition concerns the animals of the Upper Zemplín and offers exhibits from various animal communities. The exhibition aims to encourage the natural interest of young visitors and their direction towards the active protection of the natural heritage and the environment. Near the manor is also the Exhibition of Folk Architecture and Housing. The open-air museum complex is located almost in the center of the town. Its dominant feature is the wooden church of St. Michal Archangel from the village of Nová Sedlica, which was moved to the open-air museum in 1974. Visitors can also see other residential and farm buildings or other objects, such as a log house, which was built before the First World War. Near the open-air museum, there is also a tourist information center, which provides visitors with information about the town, opportunities for tourism, accommodation, or catering and guide services.